The state of New Hampshire does not levy any personal income taxes against its residents or resident workers. New Hampshire also does not have a general sales tax. They do, however, levy taxes on a persons dividends and interest income, inheritance taxes, business, taxes, consumer excise taxes and other taxes as are described below.
This is done at a rate of about five per cent. The dividends and interest tax applies to all residents who earn shares in excess of $2,400 per year. Exemptions to this tax apply in the following situations:
Taxpayers who estimate that their tax liability will go over $500 will now need to make an advanced estimated tax payment. These advanced payments are due on the 15th day of April, June, September, and January.
Other taxes levied by the state of New Hampshire include: Inheritance and Estate Taxes, Business Profits Tax, Business Enterprise Tax, Communications Services Tax, Electricity Consumption Tax, Meals and Rentals Tax, Tobacco Tax, Real Estate Transfer Tax, Timber Tax, Gravel Tax, State Education Property Tax, Utility Property Tax, and Local Property Tax. New Hampshire does not currently have a state sales tax. They do, however, use resale certificates.
Tax returns are due on April 15th or the next business day following the 15th if the 15th falls on a weekend or a holiday. Taxpayers unable to pay their taxes are able to setup a payment agreement with the State of New Hampshire given the still file their return by April 15th. This agreement is binding and will minimize the amount of late fees, penalties, and interest levied on the taxpayer for late payment. Any default on the payment agreement will result in the taxpayer paying the full amount of penalties and interest along with any applicable late fees.
Taxpayers now have the added benefit of filing their tax returns online and then they can return to the website later to check the status of their income tax return.