The State of Alabama Real Estate Commission (AREC) in Montgomery,, Alabama supervises the real estate industry in Alabama.
In order to qualify for an Alabama real estate salesperson license, you must be a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident; be at least 19 years old; show proof of high school graduation or a GED; have no felony convictions nor convictions for crimes of moral turpitude; not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years; and finally, you must complete approved 60 clock-hour pre-license Alabama real estate courses.
Additionally, you must complete a 30-hour post-license real estate agent training in the state of Alabama within the first 12 months of receiving your license.
In order to become a real estate broker in Alabama, you must be a U.S. Citizen or lawful permanent resident; be at least 19 years of age; show proof of high school graduation or GED; have no felony convictions nor convictions for crimes of moral turpitude; not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.
Also, you must have held an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 of the 36 months before your application. You must pass the Alabama real estate education requirements and pass the licensing examination.
If you hold a license in another state, you may get a reciprocal license by submitting an application and a "Certificate of Licensure" from that state. Nineteen states have reciprocal agreements with Alabama.
The exams are held in four cities and the fee is $67. The annual renewal fee for an Alabama real estate salesperson license, whether active or inactive, is $175. The annual renewal fee a broker license is $195, and the annual fee for a license for a Company is $170.00. You can renew these licenses online, as well as download any necessary forms.
Once licensed, you must take fifteen hours of real estate continuing education courses every two years. The Real Estate Commission must approve the school.
If you desire to rent and lease apartments, you it is not necessary to have a real estate license in Alabama. However, If as a licensed real estate broker you decide to manage apartments, the Commission will expect you to comply fully with the law and rules pertaining to security deposits.