Personal injury in North Dakota can be a pretty extreme issue. When personal injury in North Dakota occurs, there are a few things that people will pay attention to. While many people will pay attention to the well being of the person who has the personal injury, others will be thinking about fault. Sometimes, personal injury happens at the fault of the person who is injured. There are other times when the fault of the personal injury in North Dakota is thought to be placed on an outside party. When this is suspected, there is a legal process to go through.
|North Dakota Personal Injury Laws|
Statute of Limitations
|6 years from injury or 2 years in the case of wrongful death
|Damages Recoverable||Future earning ability, lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, cost of household help, property damage|
|Strict Liability||Product manufacturer may be liable for injuries caused by a consumer product|
|Joint Liability||Defendants are proportionately liable for damages|
|Contributory Negligence||Modified contributed negligence: you may not recover damages if you are found to be 50% or more at fault, if you are found to be 49% or less at fault you may recover damages based on proportion of fault.|
Personal Injury in North Dakota has an interesting and unique time line After you have suffered a personal injury, there are a few things that you need to do as soon as physically possible. If you believe that someone else is at fault for your personal injury, you need to take notes and take inventory of anything that could help your case; names, dates, and addresses are important, as well as any physically evidence that will be needed in a case. If you are unsure as to what you need, you should speak to a lawyer as soon as possible.
The uniqueness of personal injury in North Dakota comes in the form of the time length that you have to actually file the lawsuit, however. Other states generally have a time of two to three years; if you do not file within those two or three years, you cannot file for the lawsuit and cannot sue for damages. North Dakota offers six.
To show fault, you need to be able to show that there was negligence on the part of the person who you believe had fault in your injury. If you can show that they caused your injury, you can seriously consider the lawsuit. You must be able to show that the fault of the personal injury in North Dakota had an uneven fault percentage; you must show that the person you are suing had more to do with the injury than you did.
There are a few different things that you can claim as damages for personal injury in North Dakota. Any medical expenses can be covered; even the future medical expenses can be covered. Any lost work, or other aspects of income, can be claimed as well.
For more specific information about your case, contact a North Dakota personal injury lawyer.