Personal injury protection is offered in most automotive insurance and life insurance policies these days but all states differ in the amount of coverage offered in these policies. Personal injury protection is an extension of automotive insurance offered in the United States that covers damages, lost wages, and other damages that occur as a result of an accident. Personal injury protection is not offered in all 50 states or from every insurance company located in every state. Personal injury protection insurance is also referred to as no fault insurance because it is usually paid out without regards to who is at fault in the accident. A personal injury protection claim will not raise a person's insurance premiums if they are involved in an accident. Even though not all 50 states offer personal injury protection it is a required form of coverage in most of the 50 states that offer the coverage. States that do not offer personal injury protection might offer Auto Medical Payments coverage, or both, and it is a first party coverage without regard to liability. The limits of personal injury protection range anywhere from $1,500 to $250,000 depending on the injury and the state that the coverage is in. The states that offer mandatory coverage for personal injury protection are Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Utah and Texas.
Personal injury protection is available to anyone that wishes to apply for this type of insurance, even if the state they live in does not require their motorists to be covered in such a way. When researching whether or not a person should apply for personal injury protection they should look at a variety of different factors. Those factors include where the person lives, what the person's driving habits are, what the person's employment history is, what the person's health is, what the person's personal circumstances are and what the level of the person's existing coverage is at the time of applying for personal injury protection. Some states that have laws regarding no-fault will ban their citizen's ability to sue for pain and suffering and other compensation because that state requires personal injury protection insurance. The no-fault laws enacted by these states are enacted in their hopes to cut down on the number of lawsuits heading to their local and state courts. People injured in accidents in these states can file a lawsuit if the accident resulted in an incapacitating disability or even death.
People that apply for personal injury protection that live in the states that do not require this coverage will sometimes find that there might be an overlap in coverage between the personal injury protection and their current health insurance plan. Both plans can cover wage loss reimbursement, which means that the person must decide which plan reimburses at a higher rate and should then cancel this feature from the other plan. Personal injury protection insurance does not cover injuries from farm equipment, recreational vehicles, or motorcycles. This form of coverage will also not pay if the person intentionally injures themselves or if they are injured at the time of an accident while committing a felony.
|If you are facing a lawsuit, consult with an attorney, they will be able to walk you through the entire process.|