Auto Accident Law in Oregon

Was a police report filed?
  • Becoming involved in an automobile accident in Oregon can be debilitating and difficult to deal with. Understanding your rights and responsibilities ahead of time will make all the difference.

    Knowing The Law

    In Oregon, insurance law requires each driver to carry a minimum of $25,000 liability insurance per person as well as $50,000 per incident for bodily injury to others. Naturally, there it is also a requirement for $10,000 liability insurance per incident for coverage of damage to others property. While these amounts can go up in the case of those who have full coverage insurance or a higher level of insurance, they can never be lower than what is mandated by the state. With this knowledge, you can assume that you have these amounts to choose from in pleading your case at court.

    Your Responsibilities

    As a driver involved in an automobile accident in Oregon, it is required that you report the accident and any injury that may have occurred. Once you have taken care of the immediate and obvious duties such as gathering names and addresses of witnesses and filling out whenever necessary paperwork, it would behoove you to contact a personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Without an attorney, it can be very difficult indeed to win a case from any insurance company. Insurance companies make their living on avoiding paying as often as possible, necessitating the need for a personal injury attorney of your own.

    Selecting an Attorney

    By taking the time to select an attorney that is skilled and experienced, you can arm yourself with a strong level of knowledge of the local law and procedure. Without this information, you can be left to your own devices and can be easily swept away by the investigators, attorneys and other employees in use by the insurance companies. Keep in mind that insurance companies are extremely reluctant to pay out on any claim and will use almost any excuse to avoid handing over any type of compensation. Without an attorney, it is very likely that you'll have a difficult time of being compensated for injuries and damages.

    Standing Your Ground

    Whether or not you use a personal injury attorney, the length and breadth of the case can begin to wear on even the most resilient of nerves. It is important that you do whatever you have to do to maintain your composure and continue to work towards the pursuit of compensation. Insurance companies are well aware that many people do not have the patience to see it through to the end, allowing them to take advantage of you in one more way. By standing your ground, you can ensure that you receive the compensation that you deserve.

    Talk to a Lawyer

    Start here to find personal injury lawyers near you.

    How it Works

    1. Briefly tell us about your case
    2. Provide your contact information
    3. Choose attorneys to contact you
    Make the most of your claim

    Get the compensation you deserve

    We've helped 225 clients find attorneys today.

    How It Works

    1. Briefly tell us about your case
    2. Provide your contact information
    3. Choose attorneys to contact you