Accidents involving motor vehicles occur each day in California and if you have never been in an auto accident before it can be a difficult thing to manage. In order to avoid a great deal of stress that comes from not knowing what to do or expect after an auto accident in California it is important to take some time to learn the auto accident laws. These laws will help you understand how to best protect yourself if you are found to be at fault during an accident and they will also help you get compensation for any accident that was not caused by you or your actions.
Auto accident law in California requires all vehicle drivers to be financially responsible for the accidents that they cause. All individuals operating a vehicle are required to maintain liability insurance at all times The liability insurance must be able to cover at least $5,000.00 in property damage, $15,000.00 per person for death and bodily injury, and $30,000.00 for all people involved in any car accident. Comprehensive insurance is not required by California.
Auto accident law in California gives drivers an alternate way to prove that they will be financially responsibility for any accidents that they cause. If a person chooses not to maintain comprehension insurance they have the option of making a cash deposit with the California Department of Motor Vehicles in the amount of $35,000. Drivers with more than 25 vehicles in their fleet can submit proof of self insurance to the Department of Motor Vehicles or prove that they purchased a surety bond of $35,000.00 from a company that is licensed and bonded by the state of California.
If a driver is involved in an auto accident in California and they are found to be primarily at fault there are several things that they might be forced to pay for. Knowing what monetary judgments they might face often helps encourage drivers to get and maintain auto insurance. The state of California will allow individuals who have suffered because of motor vehicle accidents to receive compensation for lost wages and medical expenses that they are forced to pay. They will also receive damages that are directly attributed to the accident such as property damage done to vehicles. The state of California also allows individuals to receive financial compensation for their mental anguish and pain and suffering.