Motor vehicle accidents happen each day and they often lead to financial hardship for families that are unprepared. Staying current on Alaska auto accident law will help you and your family avoid unnecessary difficulty. The auto accident laws in Alaska are designed to help ensure that your family has the maximum amount of protection from accidents even if injuries were not discovered right away. Being aware of the laws in your state will help you avoid being taken advantage of or making legal mistakes that could cost you and your family in the future.
Drivers in Alaska are required to maintain certain amounts of car insurance. These levels have been set to help offset financial damage that is caused by an auto accident. Alaska law requires drivers to have car insurance to cover up to $100,000.00 in personal injury. This amount is meant to cover personal injuries that all people in the car receive during the auto accident. The coverage is limited to $50,000.00 for any individual passenger. The driver is also required to have auto accident coverage for property damage. Alaska drivers are only responsible for maintaining enough coverage for $25,000.00.
There are times when individual drivers in Alaska do not have auto insurance. In other situations the driver does not have enough coverage to meet the claims being filed by a passenger or another driver. When this occurs the driver who is considered responsible for the accident and injuries can be taken to court.
Alaska auto accident law puts a limit on the amount of money anyone can receive in small claims court for auto accident claims. Injured individuals can only receive up to $10,000.00 in damages. They have only 2 years to file a claim from the date of the injury or the day the injury was first discovered.
Many people are not sure where to file their suit. Some people mistakenly file their suit in their own local court because it is more convenient. In reality the suit should be filed in the local court of the individual that is being sued. If this is not acceptable to the individual filing suit there is also the option of filing suit in the county where the accident took place. If you have obtained an attorney to represent your best interests then you should follow their advice regarding where the lawsuit if filed.