Michigan drivers can now reduce their automobile insurance premiums by reducing the medical coverage. However, drivers must make sure that the personal medical insurance covers automobile accident-related injuries. Prior to the change in the law, Michigan was one of the only states requiring unlimited medical coverage included in automobile insurance policies.
Under the new law, an at fault driver may be sued for excess medical expenses incurred over the lower limit that the injured person may have selected. This is in addition to non-economic damages which include pain and suffering, mental distress and anxiety.
With the change in the law, mini-tort has increased to $3000. This means that if you are less than 50% at fault for an accident, the other driver can be sued for your vehicle damage up to $3000. The prior limit was $1000.
New minimum liability limits were also increased from $20,000 to $50,000. You still have the option to purchase higher amounts.
If you have any questions on these or other personal injury
related matters, please call John Alexander at 248-290-5600 for a free
consultation via phone, zoom, or in person.