You must present proof of your identity to receive a marriage license. In the state of Vermont, you will need to provide a certified copy of your birth certificate as well as a current ID with a photo. You will also need to know where your legal town of residence is and where you were born. You must know your birth date, your parents' names, and your parents' birthplace.
Under Vermont law, at least one of the marriage partners must sign the application before a clerk. However, they may want both members to appear in person and may ask to see legal documentation such as birth certificates, divorce decrees, or other documents.
No residency is required to get a marriage license in Vermont, but if either of the wedding members is a Vermont resident, you must get the license from that person's town of residence. Non-residents may be asked to provide a birth certificate, a copy of the divorce decree if you are divorced, or a copy of the death certificate of a deceased spouse if you are widowed or a widower.
You and your future spouse must apply together in person.
Be advised that there is a $20 to $23 fee. There is an extra charge of $7 to cover a certified copy of the license. Depending on which county you buy the license in, you may be required to pay with only cash or travelers' checks.
Almost any minister, rabbi, or priest may legally conduct the wedding ceremony. If you prefer a civil ceremony, you can have your wedding performed by an assistant judge, justice of the peace, or Supreme Court judge. However, if the person you have chosen to preside over the ceremony does not live in Vermont or is unrecognized by this state, the person must request a permit from a Probate Court. This court must be stationed in the county where you plan to get married.
Minors who are under 18 years of age but 16 or older will require parental consent before they can receive a marriage license. People who are not mentally competent are not allowed to get a marriage license. The state of Vermont will not issue a marriage license that would break the laws of your home state.
There is no waiting period before the license becomes valid. No blood test is required. Cousins may legally marry under Vermont law. Neither same sex marriage nor proxy marriage is recognized by Vermont.