You should always look before you leap, or that's how the saying goes, anyway. Well, it certainly applies in the case of planning a wedding! It is definitely wise to look at the rules, laws, and regulations of the state and county in which you are planning on getting married before you start making any concrete arrangements for your marriage ceremony.
Luckily, Indiana isn't one of the states that asks for an arm and a leg in exchange for the marriage license. Here's all you will need to bring in order to get a 60-day license:
Any minor wanting to get married must bring a certified copy of a birth certificate. Additionally, 17-year-olds must apply with both parents or those who have legal custody—they need to sign the consent part of the application.
If an applicant is either 16 or 15 years of age, a different process must be followed. This person must petition the Circuit Court via a "Permission to Marry" form. This is done as a way of getting the court's permission to marry. The cost for filing this court document is $124—and that fee is not refundable, even if the judge decides against letting the minor marry.
It is acceptable for first cousins in the State of Indiana to marry—however, they may only marry if both cousins are at least 65 years of age. This regulation is in place so as to keep the cousins from having children, since that poses genetic issues.
Common law marriages—ones in which couples live together and present themselves as husband and wife without actually having a legally binding marriage—are not permitted in Indiana. However, the State of Indiana does recognize common law marriages that have been legalized by another state.