Marriage in Idaho

Getting ready to plan a wedding in Idaho is much like planning a wedding in any other state. There are endless decisions to make and things to do. However, before you get started, you need to become familiar with the specifics of Idaho marriage planning. After all, you don't want to hit a snag in your wedding planning.

Marriage License Requirements

When you go to apply for a marriage license in Idaho, go as a couple because you will both need to provide documents in order to get the license. You do not need to be a resident of Idaho—in fact, it isn't necessary for either of you to be a resident—however, you will need to bring the following documents:

  • Certified copy of your birth certificate
  • Driver's license
  • Social security card
  • Date of divorce or date of the death of the previous spouse if married before

You will also need to pay a fee. Unlike many other states, the fee varies depending upon the day of the week that you go to get the marriage license. If you choose to get the license on a weekday, you will pay just $28; however, if you opt to go to get the marriage license on a Saturday, you will end up paying $45. In either case, you need to have cash, as checks and credit cards are not accepted. The marriage license does not expire; therefore, it really does not make sense to get the license on a Saturday (unless, of course, you are in a rush).

Minor Marriages

Anyone who is age 16 or 17 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and must also have written parental consent on a form called the ‘Affidavit of Consent to Marriage of Minor.' For those who are younger than age 16, a court order is also needed.

Required Test

There are no medical or blood tests required in the State of Idaho; however, there is one required test. As stated by Idaho Code 32-412A, both members of the couple need to read and sign a premarital AIDS educational pamphlet.

Common Law Marriages

A common law marriage is one in which the couple lives together and presents themselves to the world as man and wife; however, they have not had a formal wedding ceremony and do not have a marriage certificate. While Idaho used to recognize these marriages, they are no longer seen as valid in this state—unless the common law marriage was created prior to January 1, 1996.

Get Professional Help

Talk to a Family attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you

Find a Lawyer

Start here to find family and divorce lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you