The laws for employment in Utah exists to ensure that all individuals living and working in the state of Utah are treated fairly by employers. These laws were established to help employees understand how their employers should treat them. Learning these laws will help you avoid being mistreated by employers while you work in the state of Utah.
State law also guarantees the physical safety of all Utah employees. Employers are required to maintain safe-working environments for all employees at all times. The Utah Occupational Health and Safety division was established to help employers maintain safe working environments. The division provides consultation and help when it comes to improving worksites and making hazardous areas safe for employees to work in.
This division provides advice and suggestions for improving hazardous areas. In some situations employees are able to complain directly to the division anonymously. Employees who do provide information about unsafe work environments cannot be terminated in retaliation for their complaint.
Employment law in Utah protects workers who have been injured during in employment with workers compensation laws. These laws only go into effect if the injury was not self-inflicted by the employee. The workers compensation laws also cover any disease or illness that can be directly attributed to the employer or that has been aggravated by employment conditions.
Employment law in Utah provides workers with medical benefits to cover the expense of initial treatments and rehabilitation benefits when necessary. Disability programs are available with the amount given being based entirely on the duration of the disability and the wages of the individual. Employers are required to investigate all disability claims and make an assessment on whether or not the employee really is disabled. Death benefits can be awarded to any dependents within 312 weeks from the date of the accident.
The state of Utah does offer assistance to anyone that is unemployed and meets certain criteria. Unemployment benefits are only available to those who have become employed through no fault of their own meaning they were terminated or received a cut in hours. No one can receive unemployment benefits because they stopped working.
To earn assistance from the state of Utah you must be a United States citizen or be legally authorized to work in the United States. You must have earned enough money during the previous year to justify monetary assistance. You must also have earned at least $2500.00 during the 20 weeks prior to becoming unemployed or at least $125 per week. In addition this you must be willing and able to search for full time work.