Nevada employment law focuses on employee's rights, but strives to be fair to both the employee and the employer. Nevada's laws regarding wages, daily work breaks, and payment for days worked after losing a job make employment in Nevada ideal.
Nevada has a minimum wage of $6.85 per hour for companies that do not provide health benefits for their employees, and $5.85 per hour as a minimum for the companies that do provide health insurance. Many states allow the minimum wage to be lower for workers who receive tips, and let gratuities be considered as part of the wage. Nevada does not allow for anyone to be paid less than $5.85 per hour, even those who receive tips.
State laws require companies to have at least semi-monthly paydays. It is also expected that employers do not deduct wages from employees' paychecks unless it is federally mandated, such as child support payments, or if an employee has requested in writing that wages be withheld.
Anyone with employment in Nevada is entitled to breaks during their workday. A paid 10-minute break is to be provided for every 3 and a half hours of work. Employers may allow these breaks to be taken consecutively, but the law does not require them to do so. An unpaid 30-minute break for meals must be provided for every 8 hours of work and cannot be interrupted, meaning an employer cannot ask an employee to break up their meal period.
For those employees who lose their job either by quitting or being terminated, Nevada laws offers some protection for them. When an employer fires an employee, they are required by law to provide the final paycheck of that employee no later than three days following the termination. Employees who choose to quit can expect their final paycheck on the next pay period or seven days from the day of notice, whichever comes first.
Nevada has laws and agencies to protect employees who have not received wages due to them. When an employee has not been paid properly, their first course of action should be to bring it to the attention of the employer. The Office of the Labor Commissioner is available in either Las Vegas or Carson City if the employer still does not pay out the earned wages. As long as the employee has some proof of hours worked and not received their claim will be processed. While this claim can take time, the Office of the Labor Commissioner is devoted to helping employees recover their wages.