Employment in Georgia

If you have been employed and do not have the benefit of a contract, you are considered to be employed "at-will", or through the free choice of the employer and yourself. This means you can be terminated at any point and for any reason that does not fall into the discrimination category. Illegal reasons for termination include sex, nationality, race, age, religious practices, pregnancy, and disability. If you suspect that you have been discriminated against, seek the advice of a professional, licensed attorney. He or she can help you navigate the ins and outs of the law.

If you have a contract, you are guaranteed to have the job for the time period specified in the agreement. You may not legally be fired for any reason unless it the reason is noted in the contract. Misconduct is the only exception to this rule.

Employee Handbooks

The laws do not insist that each business provide an employee handbook. A handbook serves as a sure record of the company's business policies and methods, and it should include at least a few basic sections. It needs to state the company's view of the at-will business relationship. It should provide information on the Family Medical Leave Act, equal employment opportunity, a policy on voicemail, email, and Internet access, and a statement regarding sexual harassment

Although the possession of a handbook will not usually be construed as a hindrance to the at-will state of the employee, any handbook should have a statement that says the at-will status is not changed by the handbook. It should also make it clear that the company reserves the right to change the policies in the handbook at any point in the future.

Workers' Compensation: When You Can Get It?

In Georgia, you will probably be entitled to workers' compensation for any injury or disability you sustain due to your job. Someone who has been completely disabled and cannot work can get two-thirds of their median weekly payment, but cannot collect more than $475. This law stands if your injury happened on July 1, 2003 or later. If you were injured on July 1, 1992 or thereafter, you can receive compensation for up to 400 weeks. Some extreme injuries may warrant lifelong compensation.

If you are unable to continue making the amount of money you made before the injury but can still work some, you are entitled to a smaller amount of compensation. If your injury took place on July 1, 2003 or after, this amount will be no higher than $284.00.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to an Employment Rights attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you