Driving Under the Influence (DUI) can have serious consequences in the United States, especially a DUI conviction record. Next to the immediate loss of driving privileges, the offender may be fined, incarcerated, put under house arrest or the vehicle can be impounded. As drunk driving arrests are steadily rising since the 1970's, law officials are pushing for even harder laws, and once you have been arrested, a DUI attorney is your best defense.
How much is too much?
While the legalities for defining a permissible blood alcohol limit used to vary from state to sate, the maximum limit ranged from 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent. The following 19 jurisdictions had adopted the 0.08 percent limit: Alabama, California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont and Washington State. The remaining stated use 0.10 percent as the permissible alcohol content.
However, in October 2002, Congress required that all states lower their limit to the 0.08 percent mark and threatened to cut Federal highway funds if the limit was not lowered. Currently, all states have adopted the 0.08 percent mark and will charge any drivers whose blood alcohol content exceeds that limit.
The importance of a DUI attorney
Once you have been charged with a DUI, the best decision is to consult a DUI attorney immediately. While you do have the option to represent yourself, it is important to understand that it is a terrible idea to do so.
DUI offenses are very complex charges and the consequences can be very harsh. Besides administrative license issues, the evidence must be prepared and evaluated carefully. Complicated procedures and statutes may take very long to comprehend and experienced DUI attorneys can safe the time necessary to prepare your defense.