Getting caught with a DUI in Wyoming can really mess up your life until things get straightened out. In the state of Wyoming, when you are arrested for a DUI you are faced with both a criminal case and a case that involves the Wyoming Department of Transportation, in which your license may be suspended from 90 days up to three years in some cases. Therefore, if you have been arrested for a DUI, make sure that you contact a DUI attorney immediately so they can prevent the revocation of your driving privileges. It is important that you find a specialist due to the intricacy of DUI law.
|Court Fines||Potential Jail Time||License Suspension*|
|1st Conviction||Up to $750
||Up to 6 Months
|2nd Conviction||Up to $750||7 Days to 6 Months
|3rd Conviction||$750-$3,000||30 Days to 6 Months
|4th Conviction||Up to $10,000||Up to 2 Years
||Ignition Interlock Possible
DUI in Wyoming offers some of the strictest penalties in the country, so consider yourself warned. There are even anti-plea bargaining laws that may prevent your attorney from even having a chance at lessening your punishments. In order to do so, your attorney will need to file a motion in open court stating that there is sufficient evidence. A case can be made against you if you are caught driving under the influence by two different methods. These include the "under the influence" law and the ‘per se' law. The per se laws make it a crime to drive with a blood alcohol level that is of or greater than .08 percent.
If you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Wyoming, then you may suffer the following penalties: fines, jail time, alternatives to jail, community service, work release, mandatory alcohol education classes, impoundment of your vehicle, or the installation of an ignition interlock device into your vehicle. The suspension of your license can be anywhere from 90 days up to a maximum of three years. If you get a third offense, your license may be revoked up to five years. You may also have to pay a higher premium on your auto insurance if convicted.
The Interstate Driver's License Compact is an agreement between certain states share the information that they have on certain drivers who have been convicted of a DUI. What this means to you is that if you are convicted of a DUI in Wyoming, and have been convicted of a DUI in another state as well within the last seven years, it may very well be treated as a second offense.