Being convicted of a DUI in Wisconsin is nobody's idea of a good time; you may find yourself facing some serious penalties that include heavy fines and even jail time. Take the following information into consideration if you have recently been convicted of a DUI or have driven under the influence in the past. In Wisconsin, DUI is often referred to OWI: Operating While Intoxicated. The acceptable blood alcohol level was lowered to .8 percent recently; so make sure that you don't drive if you've had anything to drink. Because DUI is such as serious offense, make sure you contact an attorney immediately following your arrest.
|Court Fines||Potential Jail Time||License Suspension|
|1st Conviction||$300||Usually Overnight
|2nd Conviction||$350-$1,100||5 Days to 6 Months
||Minimum of 1 Year|
|3rd Conviction||$600-$2,000||30 days to 1 year||Minimum of 1 Year|
Wisconsin DUI penalties vary depending ont eh circumstances of your case. A DUI Attorney can help get the best possible outcome, by reducing fines and penalties to the minimum possible.
The following is the criteria used by police and the courts in order to determine whether or not you have been driving under the influence: if you have been driving with a BAC of .o8 percent or higher, driving under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or chemical substances, driving with a detectable amount of a controlled substance in your system, or driving under the influence of any controlled substance of drug. Now, the last three factors listed may sound similar, they are written in such as way so as to cover all bases, so to speak. If you are stopped for DUI in Wisconsin it is imperative that you take a blood or breath test if it is offered; refusing to do so may mean increased fines, jail time, and a suspension of your diver's license.
|If you are in need of legal assistance, consult with a DUI/DWI Attorney in Wisconsin to receive a free case review.|
The penalties for a DUI in Wisconsin for a first offense are as follows: a fine between $150 to $550, a surcharge of $355, a license suspension of six to nine months, six points on your license, and an evaluation of your alcohol consumption. This evaluation involves an assessment of how often you do drugs or drink alcohol in order to determine whether or not you have a problem. If it is determined that you have a problem, then you may be enrolled in an alcohol education class or counseling.
If you are convicted of a second DUI in Wisconsin, then expect much harsher treatment. First offenses usually offer penalties that are meant to educate you, not so for second offenses. You will find yourself faced with much larger fines, mandatory jail time, and other penalties if you are convicted. Therefore, if you are caught once, don't let it happen a second time.