No matter what state you live in, being stopped with a DUI is bad news. You should take whatever precautions necessary in order to prevent a DUI including keeping a designated driver, taking a cab, or staying the night if possible. Whatever you do, don't drive drunk as it could cost you more than your license. If for whatever reason you have received a DUI in Utah, the good news is that for a first offense they are basically trying to teach you a lesson; the real punishment usually is given for a second offense. Even so, DUI penalties are stiff and nothing to take lightly.
This table outlines the general consequences of a Utah DUI conviction:
|Court Fines||Potential Jail Time||License Suspension|
|1st Conviction||Min. $700||Min. 2 Days
||Min. 90 Days
|2nd Conviction||Min. $800
||Min. 10 Days
|3rd Conviction||Min. $1,500||Min. 60 Days
||Minimum of 1 Year|
If you get a DUI in Utah, you will have to appear before the Driver License Division. The DLD will grant you a hearing in which you can state your case within the first 10 days of having received your request. If you do not appear before the court within this time frame you will automatically lose your driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days and up to several years.
If you get caught with a DUI in Utah, you may be given a "no alcohol" conditional license. In order to keep this license you must do the following: not drive with any alcohol in your system for the period of two years from the date that the license is issued for the first offense, and 10 years in the case of a second offense.
The penalties for a DUI in Utah vary depending on many different factors, mainly whether it is your first offense or if you have had others as well within the last 10 years. For a first offense, you could be given any of the following punishments: up to two days of jail time or electronic home confinement, a minimum $700 fine plus surcharges, assessment of possible alcohol problems, probation, ignition interlock, or license suspension. For a second time offense, the following punishments may occur: up to 240 consecutive hours of jail time or electronic home confinement, $800 minimum fine plus surcharge, enrollment in alcohol education classes, probation, ignition interlock, and license suspension for up to two years, not less than 90 days.
Abyone facing a DUI charge in Utah should seriously consider hiring a DUI attorney.