In Vermont, first-time DWI offenders can spend up to two years in jail, a harsher penalty than in many other states. Fines begin at $750, and a driver's license is automatically suspended for 6 months. An individual convicted of DWI in Vermont can't get his or her license reinstated without entering into a drug and/or alcohol treatment program.
For second DWI offenses, a driver can face two years in jail and fines up to $1500. In addition, 200 hours of community service are required and the driver's license will be suspended for 18 months.
A third DWI offense results in the permanent and lifelong revocation of driving privileges. A driver cannot legally operate a motor vehicle in Vermont for the rest of his or her life after a third DWI conviction. The offender can spend up to 5 years in prison, pay up to $2500 in fines, and be required to perform 400 hours community service.
If a DWI accident results in injury or death, a judge can order the offender to pay a fine from $5000 to $10,000 and can sentence him or her to 15 years in prison, with the addition of manslaughter charges when the accident involves a death.
An underage driver with a blood alcohol level of .02% or more will lose his or her license for six months and be required to complete a drug and/or alcohol education program. A second offense requires a one-year suspension.
A Vermont driver who accumulates 10 points within two years will face license suspension of 10 days. With more points, come longer suspensions. Fifteen points carries a suspension of 30 days and twenty points incurs 90 days of suspension, with each additional 5 points worth another 30 days of no driving privileges.
Some examples of violations and the points they carry show that the more severe violations are worth10 points each, such as failure to stop after an accident, attempting to elude a police officer, and driving with a revoked license. Failure to yield to emergency vehicles and passing a school bus take a driver halfway to suspension with 5 points each. Offenses like passing illegally and tailgating are worth 3 points, while 2 points are incurred for most general and minor moving violations.
Speeding can be worth 2 to 8 points, depending on the limit. Parking violations do not accumulate points.