Oregon doesn't use a point tracking system to keep track of traffic violations and levy suspensions. They have the Driver Improvement Program, which simply means that the more tickets a driver gets, the more chances a license will be suspended. Drivers under 18 follow stricter rules than older drivers under Oregon law.
Three traffic tickets or accidents in any combination, with 18 months, will cause a license to be restricted for 30 days. This restriction isn't the same as a suspension, because driving privileges aren't completely removed. It simply means a driver cannot drive between midnight at 5 a.m. unless travel during those hours is required to get to work, or as part of a job requirement.
One more ticket or accident in the next six months requires the driver's license to be suspended for 30 days, this time with a complete lack of driving privileges. Any more preventable accidents of traffic convictions in the same two-year period give the driver an extra 30-day suspension per incident.
Oregon drivers under 18 drive on provisional licenses until they reach 18 years of age. If two tickets or accidents occur in the two years a driver holds a provisional license, then driving privileges will be restricted for 90 days. The driver will only be allowed to drive while going to and from work and no passengers other than a parent, guardian or stepparent will be allowed in the vehicle during the restriction.
A third offense results in a six-month suspension, even if the driver turns 18 during this period. Each further conviction during the two-year provisional period results in another 6-month suspension. These drivers also may be required to take traffic courses and undergo further testing.
In Oregon, a blood alcohol level of .08% (or any percentage in underage drivers) constitutes failure of a sobriety test. Driving privileges will be suspended for 90 days, or one year, if there is a prior offense in a five-year period.
Refusal to take a breath or urine test results in an automatic 1-year suspension, or a 3-year suspension if there is a prior alcohol-related conviction in the last 5 years. Refusal or failure of a blood test while receiving medical care following a traffic accident, results in an automatic 90-day suspension, or 1-year suspension for prior related offenses in the last 5 years.