In Oklahoma, a blood alcohol level of .08% is considered legally drunk. But a driver is considered impaired with a blood alcohol level of .05% and can be convicted of a DUI as well. Drivers with blood alcohol levels between .05% and .08% will pay a $100 fine or serve six months in jail. For a first offense of this nature, a 30-day suspension will be enforced. A second and third offense of DUI with the blood alcohol level measuring between .05% and .08% will result in a six-month and a year suspension, respectively.
If a driver's blood alcohol level measure above .08%, a first offense carries no less than 10 days in jail (and not more than one year) and carries a fine of up to $1000. A second offense of this nature within 10 years of the first one is a felony, which requires a minimum 1-year of jail time and a fine up to $2500. A second or third offense carries the same minimum one year of jail time, but with the upper limits raised to 7 years for a second offense, and 10 years for third, with fines up to $5000.
The first license suspension for DUI lasts 180 days. For a second offense within 5 years, the license is lost for 1 year. If the DUI is the driver's third with any other similar offense in the last 5 years, the license will be suspended for a minimum of 3 years.
Any driver under 21 testing positive for alcohol will automatically lose his or her license for 6 months. A second offense will earn a 1-year suspension, and a third offense carries a minimum 3-year suspension of driving privileges. Fines, community service and other penalties may also apply.
A driver under 18 found to have consumed alcohol will lose driving privileges for up to 2 years, depending on the circumstances.
Points accumulate on an Oklahoma driver's license for 5 years. Ten points will result in a suspension. The highest points (5) are awarded for reckless driving and failing to stop for a school bus, while lower numbers of points are giving for common violations like speeding and failure to yield.
Points can be reduced by attending traffic school, and after 12 months with no offense. Points are removed after three year.