In North Dakota, several convictions will result in the immediate suspension of a driver's license for a varying amount of time. These suspensions include accumulating more than 11 points on your driving record. Other immediate suspension convictions include refusing a blood alcohol test, speeding away from an accident scene where injury or death occurred, fleeing from law enforcement officers, speeding 35 miles per hour over posted limits, and the fraudulent use of a driver's license. A second, third or fourth conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs also results in an immediate suspension.
A driver in North Dakota with a blood alcohol level of .08% is considered legally drunk, and will have his or her license suspended for 91 days. If the blood alcohol level registers .18% or higher, the license will be automatically suspended for 180 days. These will also incur a referral to an alcohol treatment facility, and a $250 fine. Future convictions results in immediate suspensions for a minimum of 1 year. A fifth DUI offense in the state of North Dakota is a Class C felony, bearing a fine of up to $5000 and up to five years in jail.
A driver under 21 year of age with a blood alcohol level of .02% will be convicted of a DUI and face those charges and penalties, as well.
Speeding points vary. Speeding 16 – 20 miles per hour over posted limits is worth 3 points, while driving 36 miles over the limit is worth 15.
For every point on a driver's license above 11, a 7-day suspension is required. So an individual with 15 points on his or her license will face a license suspension of 28 days.
A major point offense is fleeing a police over, which requires an automatic 91-days suspension with its 24 point value. Fleeing the scene of an accident where property damage occurred earns 14 points, or a 3-week suspension. Reckless driving and passing a flashing school bus earn 8 and 6 points, respectively, and failure to stop at a railroad crossing earns 3 points. Some of the violations earning 2 points each are ignoring a police officers instructions, driving with open alcohol (provided there is no resulting DUI conviction) and causing an accident with an emergency vehicle. Failing to properly display a license plate is worth 1 point.
Need a lawyer? Start here.