Like most states, New York's point system is designed to remove habitual law-breakers and dangerous drivers from the road. A driver accumulating 11 points or more in an 18-month period will have his or her license suspended. But before you reach 11 points, there's a good chance you'll be forced to pay a Driver Responsibility Fee.
Anyone convicted of an alcohol- or drug-related offense now must pay a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee of $250 per year for 3 years after the conviction. If a driver refuses a chemical test, a hearing will be held to determine whether or not the $250 a year fee will apply. Six points on your record in an 18-month period will cost you $100 a year for 3 years. For every point over six on a license, an extra $25 is added to the yearly fee. A driver failing to pay the required assessment fee will have his or license immediately revoked.
Its not necessary to earn 11 points by breaking traffic violation laws to have a license suspended in New York. Three speeding convictions in an 18-month period, regardless of the points total, will result in a suspension. And major convictions like driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs carry automatic suspensions. A conviction for driving under the influence in New York ensures the license will be immediately suspended for a minimum of six months.
A person convicted of speeding by driving at least 40 miles per hour over posted limits earns 11 points against his or license automatically, enough to immediately suspend the license, as well.
The most common and minor moving violations rack up 2 points against a license, while child-restraint violations, seatbelt violations, failure to stop at rail crossings or stoplights and failure to yield convictions are worth 3 points. Speeding 1 – 10 miles over the limit is also worth 3 points, with each higher category of speeding, in 10 mile per hour increments, being worth more. Speeders earn 4 points for driving 11 – 20 miles over the limit, 6 points for 21 – 30 miles over, and 8 points for 31 – 40 mph over posted speed limits. The next highest point violations award 5 points to driver's convicted of reckless driving and failure to stop for a school bus.
Accumulating 11 points requires an automatic 31-day suspension.
Need a lawyer? Start here.