Alcohol is a major cause of vehicle accidents on roads all across the country, Kansas included. Driving while intoxicated is extremely dangerous and should be avoided at all costs. You should always plan ahead when you're going to go drinking – choose a designated driver, or get the number of a car service if you need to get home. If you drink and drive, not only can you seriously hurt yourself or others, but you'll also be subject to the penalties under traffic violation laws in Kansas.
You are considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol if your blood alcohol concentration is .08 or more. Disobeying these traffic violation laws in Kansas can lead to you: being arrested, having your vehicle towed, losing your license, and facing criminal charges. Being booked for an alcohol traffic violation in Kansas can be extremely damaging to every aspect of your life. For instance, losing your license makes getting to and from work much more difficult.
A first offense of driving under the influence will cause you to have to pay a minimum of $500 in fines plus court fees. You may also need to spend some time in jail – anywhere from two days to six months. Second and subsequent breaches of alcohol traffic violation laws in Kansas are much more severe in terms of punishment. Expect to pay a minimum of $1,000 in fines and fees and possibly spend anywhere from three months to a full year in jail. Any convenience granted by drinking and driving is simply not worth the risk of severe fines and jail time.
In addition to any court related issues, you'll also face administrative punishments. Any offenses past the first can cause you to have a suspended license for up to a year. After a fifth time breaking alcohol traffic violation laws in Kansas, you may never be able to drive legally again.
It's not just driving while intoxicated that will cause you to be punished for breaking traffic violation laws in Kansas. Even just transporting an open container of an alcohol drink is considered a misdemeanor violation of Kansas state law. The penalties for this can be up to $200 in fines or imprisonment up to six months. Any further violations like this can cause you to lose your license for a year. Furthermore, transporting alcohol from another state into Kansas, or from Kansas to another state, is prohibited.