Commercial License Tickets

The tickets that are issued to a driver with a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) can come with stiffer penalties than the tickets issued to motorists with normal driver's licenses. If anyone wants to drive a tractor trailer, a tow truck, or a bus, they must obtain a Commercial Driver's trucking License. A CDL truck license is required for the driver of any vehicle with a gross weight of 26,001 pounds or more. The CDL came about in 1986 when the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act was signed into law and the main purpose of the act is to make the roads of the United States safer. The act makes it illegal for people to carry two different forms of driver's licenses and drivers that wish to obtain a CDL must pass different written and driving tests before they are approved for the CDL.

Requirements & Penalties

The requirements for obtaining a CDL uniform across all 50 states but some of the laws for CDL truck drivers license are different. Prior to the implementation of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act, the laws governing the ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle varied from state to state and were not uniformed. A person that has received a commercial license ticket faces steep penalties. A non-commercial licensed driver that has his or her license suspended might be given a restricted use license to get to and from work. But a CDL carrier typically drives for a living and if they have their license suspended they won't be able to work at all. Anyone that has received a ticket that has a CDL should consult a lawyer immediately to avoid any suspensions or other legal problems that could occur. Motorists with a CDL can cost their employers a lot of money if they receive tickets on their CDL. Some employers will even remove the driver from employment if they receive one too many tickets or too many points on their CDL.

Three Types of Commercial Driver's Licenses

There are three different classes of Commercial Driver's Licenses available today and most people cannot apply for a CDL until they are 21 years of age. Some states do allow people to apply for a CDL between the ages of 18 and 20 years old but are not able to operate with their CDL license for truck outside of the state that their CDL is legal in. The three classes of a Commercial Driver's License are:

  • Class A - Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds (11,793 kg) provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds (4536 kg).
  • Class B - Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds (11,793 kg), or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds (4536 kg) GVWR.
  • Class C - Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is placarded for hazardous materials.

If you are facing a lawsuit, consult with a Traffic Violations Lawyer, they will be able to walk you through the entire process.

Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you