A DUI Manslaughter charge in Florida is the result of an offender who drove under the influence of alcohol, prescription medication and/or illicit drugs and caused an accident killing another person. A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter not only has to live with the burden of being responsible for the death of another, but will face hefty fines nd a long prison sentence.
If you are convicted of DUI Manslaughter in Florida, you are charged with a Second degree felony accompanied by a $10,000 fine and/or 15 years of imprisonment. There is a four year minimum mandatory prison sentence for all DUI Manslaughter convictions in Florida. Convicted drivers are subject to having additional years of imprisonment tacked on to their minimum sentence as the court decides the length of punishment based on a points methods. The Florida Criminal Punishment Code requires employs the 120 "victim injury points" when a death occurs as a result of a DUI. Because this point value is high, many of the convicted ultimately face between 10 and 12 years of prison. In many cases the defendant will be asked to serve the full 15 year sentence if the family of the deceased aggressively pursues harsher punishment. Additionally, there is a mandatory lifetime driver's license revocation imposed upon all DUI Manslaughter convictions.
Under Florida law, a person who was driving under the influence also left the scene of the accident aware of their actions or unknowingly, and also failed to render aid or turn themselves in, can be convicted of a First Degree Felony. If found guilty, the punishment of DUI Manslaughter is increased to 30 years of imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine, as well as a lifetime license revocation.