The Hidden Cost of a Traffic Conviction – The Driver Responsibility Assessment
DMV points accrue when a motorist is convicted of a moving violation. Accruing 6 or more points in an 18 month period for convictions committed in New York, Quebec, or Ontario, results in an additional fine directly from the DMV, called a “driver responsibility assessment.”
The assessment applies to NY licensees, out of state licensees, and even if you have no license. On the ticket there is a fine print warning about the possibility of an assessment. Even when the violation is 6 or more points, few courts warn motorists when they enter pleas in court or by mail. The assessment is $300.00 for the first six points and $75.00 for every point thereafter. The assessment is paid directly to the NYS DMV via mail, online: https://transact.dmv.ny.gov/DriverRespAssessment/, or at a DMV office. It can be paid in full or 1/3 installments.
The DMV mails the assessment notice to the motorist. Many people neglect to change their address upon moving and do not get the assessment notice. When they default their license is suspended, which also accrues another $70.00 fee to lift the suspension. Clients can be directed here: https://my.dmv.ny.gov/crm/ to change their address if required.
Driving Up the Real Cost of the Ticket
The assessment substantially drives up the total fine. A 6 point speeding conviction adds $300.00, 8 point adds $450.00, and 11 point adds $675.00 in addition to a mandatory suspension.
A driving while intoxicated offense and a refusal for a chemical test each accrue a $750.00 assessment. Upon a conviction of operating without insurance, NY VTL § 319, in addition to a 1 year license revocation the total assessment is $750.00.
The author is the founder of AttackThatTicket.com and is licensed to practice law in New York, Connecticut and Vermont. He can be reached at 1-877-99-NO-TIX (1-877-996-6849) and handles speeding and traffic ticket defense cases anywhere in the aforementioned jurisdictions.