State Tax in Nebraska

The State Tax in Nebraska ranges from 2.56 per cent to 6.84 per cent.

The State Tax in Nebraska For Single Taxpayers is as Follows

  • 2.56 per cent on the first $2,400 of taxable income
  • 3.57 per cent on taxable income that is between $2,401 and $17,500
  • 5.12 per cent on taxable income that is between $17,501 and $27,000
  • 6.84 per cent on taxable income that is $27,001 and above

 

The State Tax in Nebraska For Married Taxpayers Filing Jointly is as Follows

  • 2.56 per cent on the first $4,000 of taxable income
  • 3.57 per cent on taxable income that is between $4,001 and $31,000
  • 5.12 per cent on taxable income that is between $31,001 and $50,000
  • 6.84 per cent on taxable income that is $50,001 and above.

 

Who Must File For Nebraska Income Taxes

Anyone who lives in Nebraska and files a federal tax return must also file a Nebraska state tax return
Non-residents who earn money in Nebraska must file a Nebraska state tax return.

Due Date For Paying State Income Tax

State tax in Nebraska is due and payable on or before the 15th of April. If the 15th happens to fall on a holiday or weekend, then the due date moves to the next business day. Filing on time keeps you from having to pay penalties or interest for filing late.  If you are unable to pay the full amount of your tax, make sure that you still file on time. If you file on-time, the only fees you will be assessed will be penalties for not paying the full amount and then interest on the balance. You will be billed for the balance.

Earned Income Tax Credit

The state of Nebraska offers an earned income tax credit that is equivalent to ten percent of the earned income tax credit offered by the IRS on federal returns.

e-File For Filing Taxes

The state taxation laws in Nebraska now allows taxpayers to file their income taxes online and then follow up later online to see the status of their refunds. E-Filing includes the filing of many of the common forms and attachments necessary for a more complicated tax return.

Deductions

Prior to 2006, the number of deductions or the amount of the deductions was reduced once the taxpayer reached a certain income level. However, after the 2006 tax year, the state of Nebraska no longer reduces the deductions allowed for the Nebraska personal exemption credit.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205