Fybromyalgia Update

Related Ads

Need Legal Help?

Connect with our verified local attorneys through a quick inquiry process. It is fast, free and secure.

The American College of Rheumatology ("ACR") changed the diagnostic criteria for Fibromyalgia.The American College of Rheumatology ("ACR") changed the diagnostic criteria for Fibromyalgia. Fibromyalgi has been accepted as a medical condition which, if severe enough, will support a finding of Social Security Disability since 2004.  At that time, a claimant needed proof from a doctor showing that the claimant had at least 11 of 18 trigger points - whch was then the approved diagnostic criteria in the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals. Since 2010, there have been new criteria which may include trigger points; however, there are three other factors to be considered.  Check out the American College of Rheumotology for more information.If Fibromyalgia is one of your disabiling conditions, ask your doctor to mark where the trigger points are on a standard anitomical form.  Also as your doctor to identify the specific things they analyzed to reach the diagnosis.  Without that information in your medical chart, a simple diagnosis of Fibromyalgia will not be enough to prove the claim.

Have a Personal Injury Case?
lawyer icon Get Your Case Reviewed. Talk to a Personal Injury Lawyer Now

Want to Learn More?
lawyer icon Check out Nolo's Do-It-Yourself Resources

eBook - $32.99 | Book & eBook - $34.99

eBook - $37.99 | Book & eBook - $39.99

eBook - $37.99 | Book & eBook - $39.99