Auto Accident Law in Hawaii

The auto accident law in Hawaii is unique in the sense that it does not always hold the responsible party at fault.  The state of Hawaii is a no fault state meaning after an accident each driver is responsible for contacting their own insurance company for compensation.  This makes each driver responsible for their own financial compensation and helps avoid lengthy court battles and lawsuits.

Auto Insurance Requirements

Since auto accident law in Hawaii requires drives involved in an accident to contact their own insurance companies for compensation the drivers must have an insurance company to contact.  The law in Hawaii requires that all drivers have valid insurance at all times.  Failure to maintain an insurance policy results in the suspension of the driver's license and they will not be able to legally operate a motor vehicle until they can prove that they have valid auto insurance.

When an individual has auto insurance they must maintain the minimum coverage amounts required by law.  Drivers in Hawaii should have at least $40,000.00 of personal injury coverage that can be limited to $20,000.00 for each individual.  Drivers must also maintain at least $10,000.00 worth of property damage insurance.

Lawsuits in Hawaii

Even though Hawaii is a no fault state there are many individuals who file lawsuits anyway.  Auto accident law in Hawaii allows suits to be filed in the local court of the individual filing the suit or in the court that is located near the place the accident occurred.  Individuals have two years from the date of the accident or the date the injury is discovered to file suit.  However, it is important to understand that the limit for monetary award is $3,500.00 which for some is not worth the time and effort of a lawsuit. 

Special Circumstances

Auto accident law in Hawaii has different rules when the accident involves a government vehicle.  When an auto accident occurs involving a government employee then the government agency employing the individual can be sued.  The lawsuit must be filed in the local court of the government agency and must be filed within a specific time frame.

There are different limitations for lawsuits filed against government agencies and the specific government agency must be contacted in order to discover their limitations.  The statute of limitations can be anywhere from 30 days to 180 days.  These statues change from time to time so it is important that the government agency be contacted immediately following an accident.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205