Marriage in Colorado

Many people choose to head to Colorado for destination weddings—and for good reason.  Colorado has simple, relaxed marriage regulations to go along with all of the beautiful scenery that the state has.  It is a good idea to learn about these rules ahead of time, though, before you finalize any of your planning.  Here are some of the basics you will need to know.

Getting the Marriage License

The marriage license is rather easy to get in Colorado.  Each member of the couple needs to bring a photo identification of some sort—such as a driver’s license, state identification card, visa, passport, or military identification card—and a social security card.  If either applicant has been previously married, it will be necessary to bring along a certified copy of a divorce decree or death certificate (whatever the case may be).

Marriage licenses in Colorado last for 30 days and typically cost only around $10 (though the cost may vary by county).  There is no waiting period after getting the license and there are no types of medical testing required.

Wedding Officiants

One of the parts about getting married in Colorado that many couples really love is that they can solemnize their own marriage in this state.  All they need to do is get the appropriate paperwork from the County Courthouse.  Somewhat strange, though, is the fact that although the couples themselves can do their own ceremony, they cannot have friends or family members solemnize the marriage—this is not acceptable by the State of Colorado.

Not-So-Common Marriage Types

Colorado recognizes a few of the less common types of marriages as being valid and acceptable.  These marriage types are not valid in a great number of states.

  • Proxy marriages:  This type of marriage is one in which the bride or groom cannot be present during the wedding due to outside circumstances.  Colorado will allow proxy marriages only if the bride or groom cannot appear due to illness, incarceration, or due to the person being out of the state.  An absentee application must be filled out.
  • Common law marriages:  Colorado recognizes common law marriages as long as both people are at least 18 years old.  A common law marriage is one in which a couple lives together as husband and wife and presents themselves to the world as a married couple.  The union must also be consummated for it to be a common law marriage.

Consult with an attorney if you would like to get more information.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205