Overview of Divorce in Michigan

If you have been to a marriage councilor to try to better your marriage and it just is not working, then you may want to look into a divorce. Sometimes if you love someone it really is easier to let go of them.  If you are looking to get a divorce in Michigan then it is important that you understand the many details and divorce laws that are involved. It is also natural that you may have a few questions such as how long it takes and the cost.

Does a Divorce in Michigan Take Long?

In order to determine how long a divorce in Michigan is going to take, there are some facts you will first need to take into consideration. First, if you have children then you should know the divorce in Michigan might take a bit longer. If you do not have children then a divorce may be granted in 60 days or less. If you are trying to get a divorce in Michigan and children are involved, then a divorce will not be granted to you until the six-month period has passed. This time is a minimum statutory time. In some cases, the length it takes to divorce could double. Really, it is all based on the court docket, level of contention, and lots of other factors. The quikest way to get through the process is to first consult with an attorney about your specific situation.

The content of this article is provided for informational purposes only. If you need legal assistance with a divorce, please consult with a Divorce Lawyer in your area to discuss the details of your case.

Divorce Cost in Michigan

If you are looking to get a divorce in Michigan, then the cost is an important factor to many individuals. There is no doubt that divorces will always cost more than you want to spend. A recent study has shown the cost of an average divorce rate in a big metropolitan area is around $18,000.

Grounds for Divorce in Michigan

First, the state of Michigan happens to be a no-fault state. Regardless of who did what to whom, the court will always have the power to terminate a relationship between two individuals. However, fault does play a large role for some other circumstances. Fault will come about when it comes to child custody, spousal support, and property rights.

Residency Requirement for a Divorce in Michigan

Before you file a complaint for a divorce in Michigan, you must first have been in the state for 180 days or more. When you file for divorce, you will be filing at the county you currently live in. You will have to have lived in the county for at least ten days before you proceed to file for a divorce in that county. If your spouse lives out of the state of Michigan, then there should not be a problem. Michigan has a “long arm” statute that will make sure the papers get served to the individual who is out of state. The only difference is the fact that the spouse who is served the papers out of state is given one extra week to respond to the Summons and Complaint that has been filed.

The content of this article is provided for informational purposes only. If you need legal assistance with a divorce, please consult with a Divorce Lawyer in your area to discuss the details of your case.
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205