DUI in Texas
Talk to a Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
If you get caught with a DUI in Texas, first of all it is very important that you take your charges very seriously. DUI, or driving under the influence, is a crime that caries some stiff penalties although it is a misdemeanor in most cases. If you find yourself with a DUI, the first thing you need to do is contact an attorney. Make sure your attorney is an expert in DUI law as it is almost a profession all to itself.
Texas DUI Consequences at a Glance
|Court Fines||Potential Jail Time||License Suspension|
|1st Conviction||Up to $2,000
||3 Days to 6 Months
||90 Days to 1 Year|
|2nd Conviction||Up to $4,000||90 days to 1 year||6 Months to 2 Years
|3rd Conviction||Up to $10,000||2 to 10 Years
||Up to 2 Years|
How is a DUI determined?
Whether or not you have a DUI in Texas depends on different factors. In Texas, you are determined to be intoxicated if you have a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 per cent or more. You can be charged with a DUI if you are impaired due to the use of any substance, regardless of your BAC rating as long as it can be proven with circumstantial evidence. Both the driver and the passenger of a vehicle can be charged a fine of $500 if there is an open container in the vehicle.
What happens if I’ve been pulled over?
If you are pulled over under suspicion of a DUI in Texas, then make sure you have your license and registration ready to submit to the officer. If you are offered a blood or breath test you must take it or you will automatically have your license suspended for 180 days.
What are the punishments for a DUI in Texas?
If you are charged with a DUI in Texas, you could be faced with many different punishments including the following. For the first offense you could receive: a fine no greater than $2,000, a jail term of three to 180 days, loss of driver’s license for up to a year, and/or an annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 dollars for three years in order to keep your driver’s license. For a second offense, you could be punished with the following: A fine no greater than $4,000, a month up to a year in prison, loss of your driver’s license for up to two years, and an annual fee of $1,000 to $2,000 in order to keep your driver’s license.
What is automatic license revocation?
Automatic license revocation, or ALR, is when your license is automatically suspended. It can happen when you get a DUI in Texas for the following reasons. Once the driver has been pulled over for the DUI, and is determined to have been driving under the influence, the police officer will offer a breath test. If this test is refused by the driver, then their license will automatically be taken for up to 180 days.