Workers Compensation Laws in Pennsylvania

Employers must provide worker's compensation insurance for their employees in Pennsylvania, but they have a choice where to purchase that insurance.  They can choose the competitive state fund, private carriers, self-insurance, or use groups of employers.  No waivers are permitted in the state, so all employers, regardless of how few employees there are, must carry worker's compensation insurance.

While coverages is not required for domestic employees, employers can voluntarily provide that coverages.  And while many states don't require that agricultural workers be covered, Pennsylvania requires that if an employer pays one agricultural worker wages of $1200 or more, or employs one agricultural laborer for 30 or more days during the year, the worker must be covered by worker's compensation insurance.

On exception to the rule is that a spouse, or son or daughter under the age of 18, of an agricultural employer isn't considered an employee unless a written contract is drawn up to that effect, and the employer would not be required to provide worker's compensation insurance for that employee.

Benefits

Medical benefits are provided in full during the entire treatment with no caps on money or time. Temporary total disability, permanent total disability and permanent partial disability all have benefits based on sixty-six and two-thirds percent of a worker's weekly wage.  With temporary and permanent total disability, that applies if the employee's weekly average wage falls between $1210.50 and $605.26.  

If you may need legal assistance regarding a Disability or Workers Compensation Matter, consult with a Lawyer in your area for a free case review in exploring your legal options.
  • If the employee's weekly average wage is between $605.26 and $448.33, then the weekly benefit is $403.50.  
  • If the employee's weekly wage is $448.32 or less, then the weekly benefit is 90% of that amount.
  • For permanent total disability and temporary total disability, the payments last as long as the worker is disabled.

For permanent partial disability, there is no minimum weekly benefit.  The maximum amount one can draw weekly is $807.  The maximum period of payment is up to 500 weeks, with a maximum accumulative benefit over that time of $403,500.

Other Benefits of Pennsylvania Worker's Compensations

For injuries Pennsylvania considers to be serious and permanent disfigurement of the head, face or neck, sixty-six and two-thirds percent of the employee's average weekly wages are payable for a maximum of 275 weeks.There may be compensation for occupational hearing loss, and physical rehabilitation benefits are available. Pennsylvania has no provision for vocational rehabilitation. Death benefits based on a percentage of the employee's wages are payable to the worker's spouse or spouse and children.

 

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205