Workers Compensation Laws in Ohio

Employers in Ohio must provide worker's compensation insurance to cover their employees though an exclusive state fund.  They cannot buy the insurance through a private carrier or through groups of employers.  They may self-insure, however.

There is no exemption for employers with small numbers of employees, though waivers are permitted for employer sponsored recreational activities. Agricultural workers, unlike in many other states, are covered the same as all employees.  And domestic employees who earn $160 or more in any quarter must be covered as well.

Medical Benefits

Ohio worker's compensation pays medical benefits initially. But after a 90-day period of receiving temporary total disability benefits, the Bureau of Worker's Compensation Medical Section will examine the employee to make sure he or she is eligible to continue, and to make sure that the medical treatment that is being provided is appropriate and necessary.

You may contact a disability attorney, if you or someone you know has a disability or simply need to get more information.

Disability Benefits

For the first 12 weeks, a worker is paid 72% of his or her wages per week if he or she is classified as temporary total disabled. After 12 weeks, the percentage drops to sixty-six and two-thirds percent. The minimum payment is $250.33 and the maximum is $751. Payments can continue for the duration of the disability, thought the payments can be offset by any Social Security benefits or benefits paid under another employer benefit plan.

For permanent total disability, the percentage is the same (66 2/3) but the minimum payment weekly is $375.50 and the maximum is $751. These amounts are subject to Social Security and/or other employer plan offsets, as well.

No specific percentage applies for permanent partial disability, nor is a minimum, but the maximum is $751. For non-scheduled injuries, the weekly benefits cannot go above 1/3 of the state average wage, and can continue for no longer than 200 weeks.

Other Benefits

A serious facial or head disfigurement which can affect future employment qualifies for benefits under Ohio's worker's compensation program. The maximum benefit that can be paid out in the case of disfigurement is $5000.

Physical and vocational rehabilitation benefits, as well as compensation for occupational hearing loss, may be available. Attorney fees compensation is available on a case by case basis.

A minimum death benefit, including a burial allowance, is payable to the spouse or the spouse and children of an employee who dies as a result of job-related injuries, regardless of the employee's wages.

You may contact a disability attorney, if you or someone you know has a disability or simply need to get more information.
FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205