Workers Compensation Laws in Nevada

In the state of Nevada, no waivers are permitted for employers for small numbers of employees.  So every employer who is required to provide worker's compensation insurance for employees is required to do so without exception.  But in Nevada, agricultural employers and those employing domestic servants are not legally required to provide this insurance, though they're urged to do so on a voluntary basis.  

There is no state fund for Nevada worker's compensation insurance, so the employer must self-insure or acquire coverage through a private carrier.

Rates

For permanent total disability and temporary total disability, the percentage of the injured worker's wage used to figure benefits is sixty-six and two-thirds percent, or approximately two-thirds of the worker's wage. There is no minimum weekly payment amount, but the maximum weekly payment for these two types of disabilities is $787.11.  Payments for temporary total disability continue for the entire time the employee is deemed disabled and unable to return to work.  Payments for permanent total disability can continue for the employee's entire life.

For permanent partial disability the maximum weekly payment is $787.11.  If an injury doesn't have a specific code on Nevada's schedule of injury codes, then the payments can continue the entire time the employee is deemed disabled, with no maximum payment cap.  The payments are figured according to the amount of disability.  For instance, for every 1% of the employee that is considered disabled, based on AMA guidelines of figuring disability percentages of a 'whole man,' then the employee receives .0.6% of his or her monthly wages.  This can be paid for 5 years, or until the injured worker turns 70, whichever comes last.

Other Benefits

The injured employee is allowed to choose his or her own physician for the duration of treatment. Occupational hearing losses may be compensated, and the injured worker may be eligible for physical and vocational rehabilitation benefits. There are no benefits for disfigurement.

Death benefits are based on a percentage of the employee's wages, and may include a burial allowance and coverage of expenses for transportation of the employee's body.

Attorney Fees

When an employee hires an attorney to obtain payment of worker's compensation benefits, some states allow for a percentage of this to be paid by the insurance. Nevada has to specific rules and percentages in place, but the attorney fee may be added to the award in certain cases and under certain circumstances to be determined.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205