Traffic Violation Laws in Wyoming

Traffic violation laws in Wyoming stipulate that there is no point system for keeping track of infractions, but 4 moving violations within 12 months can cost you your license. Wyoming has yet to institute a point system to keep track of the number of traffic violations committed by a driver in Wyoming.

Types of Traffic Violations in Wyoming

There are two types of traffic violations in Wyoming:

Status Violations

Non-moving violations. These include parking violations and meter violations, inspection violations, and illegal modifications to your vehicle. Court appearances are not required, and tickets are payable through the mail. Nothing is reported against your driving record.

Moving Violations

If your vehicle is in motion when a violation is committed, you will be charged with a moving violation. Moving violations in the state of Wyoming include speeding, failing to stop at a red light or stop sign, reckless driving, racing, and evading an officer. The majority of moving violations are misdemeanors.

If you receive 4 moving violations within twelve months, your license will be suspended. Some violations-reckless driving for example-result in your license being suspended for ninety days even as a first offender. Additionally, if you receive a moving violation for any of these infractions, your insurance premiums will increase dramatically.

Speeding Violations in Wyoming

In the state of Wyoming, most cities or townships are guided by their own municipal code when issuing fines for speeding. Thus, fines will vary from court to court. There is, however, a statewide cap on first offense fines at two hundred dollars. Unless you are driving at top speed in a populated area (of which there are relatively few in the state of Wyoming) you are highly unlikely to ever see a fine this high. Additionally, the fine for a second offense is capped at three hundred dollars, and the fine for a third offense at five hundred dollars.

Fines on state and federal highways follow a different set of guidelines. Interstate highways have a speed limit of seventy-five miles per hour. The penalty for a speeding violation is $5 per MPH Over the speed limit from 76 to 80, with a maximum fine of $25. If you are speeding at over 80 miles per hour, the magnitude of the fine will be left to the officer's judgment.

State highways, on the other hand, have a speed limit of sixty five miles per hour. There is a five-dollar per MPH over the speed limit from 66 to 70 MPH, maximum fine being $25. If your speed was in excess of 70 miles per hour, the fine is $25 plus $3 for each additional MPH.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205