Traffic Violation Laws in Ohio

Accumulating six points against your license in a six-month period will earn you a warning letter from the DMV. Twelve or more points in that period will result in a suspension of six months. This will also require a remedial driving course and a retake of the driving test.

Here are some examples of the points placed on a license for various convictions. Six-point violations include driving with a suspended or revoked license, using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony or any crime punishable as a felony, drag racing, driving another's car without permission, failure to stop at the scene of a crash, fleeing a law enforcement officer, driving while under the influence of alcohol or drug, and homicide by vehicle.

An underage driver operating a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol will have four points applied to his or her license, as will anyone willfully disregarding others' safety. Two points are given for most other moving violations. 

If you have been convicted of a Traffic Violation and need legal assistance, consult with a Traffic Violation Attorney in your area to receive a free case review.

Speeding in Ohio

Speeding generally incurs a two- or four-point penalty. Going 10 – 30 miles per hour over the limit where the posted speed limit is 55 miles per hour or more will earn the driver 2 points. Driving 5 – 30 miles per hour over the posted limit of 55 miles per hour or less will also earn 2 points. A driver traveling 30 miles per hour over the posted limit in any speed zone will have 4 points applied to his or her license.

Driving less than 10 miles per hour over posted limits in zones where the limit is 55 miles per hour or greater, or traveling 5 miles per hour or less over the limit in zones where the limit is under 55 mph, will not incur any points against a driver's license.

Remedial Traffic School

Driver's with 11 points on their licenses can take remedial traffic school which gives them a 2-point credit. The points aren't removed from their license, but suspension would occur at 14 points rather than 12 points.

OVI

In Ohio, the terminology for an alcohol- or drug-related driving offense is called Operating a Vehicle Under the Influence, or OVI. A conviction can earn the driver jail time from 3 days to 60 days, depending on the number of previous OVI convictions. The fines start at $200, and six points will be added to the driver's license for a first offense.

If you have been convicted of a Traffic Violation and are in need of legal assistance, consult with a Traffic Violation Attorney in your area to receive a free case review.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205