Traffic Violation Laws in New Mexico
Talk to a Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
Most states use some kind of a points scoring system for traffic violation laws. In New Mexico, once you've accumulated 12 of these points on your driver's license within one year, your license will be suspended for one year. Although, depending on the traffic violation laws broken, a license can actually be revoked with as little as 7 points, on discretion of the judge whom the particular case comes before.
Points for Speeding
The largest number of points awarded when breaking any one of the traffic violation laws is eight points, given for excessive speeding of 26 or more mph over posted limits. Speeding 16 – 25 miles per hours over posted limits earns the driver five points, while speeding 6 – 15 miles per hours over posted limits is worth three points.
Points are not given for convictions for breaking traffic violation laws regarding speed when those tickets are issued for speeding on rural highways in New Mexico, (rural being considered those highways at least two miles outside of incorporated towns, villages or cities, except those in Bernalilo County).
|If you need legal assistance with a traffic law issue, please consult with a Traffic Lawyer in your area to discuss the details of your case. The content of this article is provided for informational purposes only.|
School Buses and Emergency Vehicles
Drivers who break traffic violation laws with regards to stopping for school buses and emergency vehicles earn points against their license in New Mexico. Failure to yield for an emergency vehicle is worth four points. Passing a school bus where children are boarding or exiting, or the bus bears the sign indicating that traffic must stop, is worth six points, as is contest racing on the highway or reckless driving.
Six points on a New Mexico driver's license usually gets the driver a warning, and at seven points a judge has the right to revoke the license. So one conviction of passing a school bus illegally is enough to put a driver's license in immediate jeopardy.
More Minor Traffic Violation Laws
Three points are awarded for offenses like tailgating, failure to yield, careless driving (which is apparently less erratic motor vehicle operation than reckless driving), passing where prohibited, not stopping at rail crossings and making improper turns. The most minor offenses like using the wrong turn signal, driving with defective brakes, seatbelt and child restraint violations and overloaded vehicles earn the driver two points.
A major traffic violation law that earns immediate suspension is Driving While Intoxicated, or DWI. The driver automatically loses the license, and the offense remains on the driving record for 25 years.
|The content of this article is provided for informational purposes
only. If you need legal assistance with a traffic law issue, please consult with a Traffic Lawyer in your area to discuss the details of your case.