Traffic Violation Laws in New Jersey

It is every driver’s responsibility to make the roads a safer place. To that end, all states have put together lists of rules and laws that must be followed to retain driving privileges. Traffic violation laws in New Jersey operate pretty similarly to most other states – they use a point system. Points systems operate as a running tally of a person’s driving violations. If a person accumulates too many points, their license may be subject to penalties, including suspension and revocation.

How Points Work

According to traffic violation laws in New Jersey, if a person has twelve or more points on their license, they are subject to license suspension. If a person attains just six points, they may be subject to surcharges. Surcharges are special fees that are assessed on top of any court fees or fines. Surcharges may also be assessed depending on specific violations. Each year, a person who is subject to surcharges must pay them, or their license can be suspended.

What Are Surcharges?

The base surcharge fee for having six points on your New Jersey license is $150. For each point beyond that, an additional $25 is added to that number. According to traffic violation laws in New Jersey, additional surcharges can be added for the following offenses: driving without a license or with a suspended license, driving an uninsured vehicle, DUI, or refusal to take a Breathalyzer test. The latter two penalties are especially expensive, at $1,000 assessed yearly.

While any breaches of traffic violation laws in New Jersey will always be on a person’s permanent driving record, it is possible to reduce the number of points. If a person takes a Motor Vehicles Commission approved driving course, they may be subject to a point deduction. In addition, going a full year without any traffic violation will also reduce the number of points. This can be very useful in preventing surcharges and reducing insurance premiums.

Reinstating a License

In the event that a person’s license is suspended, it can in most cases be eventually reinstated. Suspension periods vary depending on the type of offense and whether or not the person is a repeat offender. Once the suspension period is over, the person will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $100. After that, the Motor Vehicle Commission will send a Notice of Restoration. Once that’s done, the person can reapply for their license.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more
NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205