Traffic Violation Laws in Mississippi

The system in place for dealing with traffic violations in Mississippi can be confusing for first-timers. Once you’ve gotten a ticket for breaking traffic violation laws in Mississippi, you may not know the next step. Fortunately, it’s not as complicated as it may seem. This article offers some basic information on what to do when after being cited for a traffic violation.

How to Handle Traffic Citations

Citations for breaches of traffic violation laws in Mississippi are handled on a local level in each city or county. Right on your ticket you will find information on your hearing – the address and phone number of the court, and the date on which the hearing will take place. If you have questions, you can call the court clerk a few days after the citation is received (you should wait until they’ve had time to process it into their system). You can get idea of the charges you’re facing and the potential fees.

Repercussions of Breaking Traffic Violation Laws in Mississippi

Unlike many other states, Mississippi doesn’t use a points system. Instead, breaking traffic violations laws in Mississippi is simply marked down on your driving record. Your insurance company, and even potential employers can access this record. Having a history of bad driving can affect your insurance premiums, so needless to say you should avoid breaking traffic violation laws in Mississippi.

Paying Fines for Breaking Traffic Violation Laws in Mississippi

It’s very wise to pay any fines you receive as quickly as you can. Failure to pay your fines in a timely fashion can result in a number of issues. If you forget to pay your ticket, in most cases you’ll then be mailed a 10-day notice. If you still do not respond to this, then you risk having your license suspended. This can be a very costly thing to have undone. You may need to pay almost $300 on top of the standard fine.

Paying fines in Mississippi must be done either with cash or with a cashier’s check or money order – courts do not usually accept credit cards or personal checks. You should never send cash in the mail; so if you decide to plead guilty and pay your fine in advance, use a money order or cashier’s check. Make sure that once the transaction is completed that you get a receipt, in case there is any recording mistakes on the court’s end.

NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205